Bantay Kalikasan

ALKFI, Ten Knots Partnership through Bantay Kalikasan

Maureen San Antonio
May 5, 2017

Ten Knots Group continues its partnership with ABS-CBN Lingkod Kapamilya Foundation, Inc. (ALKFI) through Bantay Kalikasan, the environmental arm of the foundation, in its advocacy to properly dispose hazardous wastes – used lead-acid batteries and used industrial oils.

“It’s timely that we renew our partnership as we, Ten Knots, have now evolved from being a resort owner and operator to a township developer; we are building a 300-hectare resort town called LIO,” said Javier Hernandez, Chairman, Ten Knots Group, that runs four resorts in El Nido, Palawan. He also stated that this continuation of partnership with ALKFI is because of its similar concerns about preserving the environment. 

In photo: (L-R) Rita Regalado –ULAB Supervisor, Oriental and Motolite Marketing Corporation; Jen Deomano Santos –Program Director, Bantay Kalikasan ALKFI; Noemi Samson – Chief Finance & Services Officer, ALKFI; Michael Alexis Legaazpi –Chairman, Ten Knots Group; Javier Hernandez –President, Ten Knots Group; Mariglo Laririt –Director of Environment & Sustainability, Ten Knots Group; Marvia Jelizha Lagman –PR & Digital Marketing Manager, Ten Knots Group

The partnership began in 2007, when Ten Knots committed to properly dispose and recycle its used industrial oil by donating it to Bantay Kalikasan’s Bantay Langis project. The renewed partnership includes donation of used lead acid batteries, as well.

“We are grateful for the partnership with Ten Knots, we are thankful for companies as big as them who understand the value of sustainability, environmental protection and stewardship. It is our privilege to work with institutions like them that implement programs and projects to take care of the Earth that we live in,” stated Jen Deomano Santos, Program Director, Bantay Kalikasan.

The used oils and lead acid batteries collected from Ten Knots Philippines’ properties will help support all the environmental advocacies of Bantay Kalikasan and its 14 assisted-communities: Iba, Zambales; San Ysiro, Antipolo; Pasig River, Lobo, Batangas; Oriental Mindoro; Sibuyan; Samar; Leyte; Carles, Iloilo; Guimaras; Palawan; Sorsogon; Maguindanao; and Sarangani.